On Springtime and Taking Cues from Nature

Nostalgia in reverse, the longing for yet another strange land, grew especially strong in spring.

– Vladimir Nabokov, Mary

I love this quote. Not only do I relate to it on such a deep level, but it reminds me of how excited I am that Spring has begun. Spring is my favorite season. It is the time of year where I feel something spark inside me, and my longing for adventure and the things that are truly important to me make an appearance. There is a distinct yearning for something more, something better, something new. January no longer signals the beginning of a year for me. Instead, I take my cue from nature, and begin my year at a time when nature is beginning the process of renewal, regeneration, and rebirth. It is the time of year where the beings of nature, plants and animals, make their reappearance. Even humans, lulled by the sunshine and bearable warmth, come out of their winter cocoons in Spring, and in my opinion, are all the better for it. This idea dates back to many ancient cultures, like the ancient Celts. They too, took their cues from nature.

IMG_5635

I have noticed that the natural world has become a main player in my thoughts and writings of late. I recently wrote an article for LivingOut.Social about the correlation between being in nature and overall happiness (which you can find here), which allowed me to reflect on my relationship with nature and the times of year I feel the most rejuvenated and simply happy. I have come to the conclusion that Spring is that time.

IMG_5634

The idea of looking at nature as a backbone in my life is a new concept for me. Rarely acknowledging the here and now was commonplace in the past, and only recently have I begun to foster new awareness of my mind, body, and the things around me. I am paying more attention to the fuel I put into my body and how it affects me. I am paying more attention to negative and positive parallels that surround my relationships with others. And I am also putting my past into perspective.

IMG_5633

Looking back, I realize Springtime is when I have always been the happiest. Most of my adventures happen in the Spring, from global trips to local ones. These months signal a time when I feel the most hopeful, the most excited for the future, and with the energy and drive to visualize and work toward the things I am truly passionate about. This year, being in a new city will further define what this season means to me. Finally in a place where the wilderness is so close to my doorstep, the possibilities are endless.

Obviously there are magical things that happen in every season of the year, especially if you live in a place where you get to experience all of them. Spring has come to hold a special space in my heart, because the rejuvenation experienced in nature seems to correlate to a similar rejuvenation inside myself. Maybe it is not the same for everyone, but if you ever find yourself in need of self-reflection or have become disheartened by the endless drum of a busy 21st century life, I encourage you to escape for a little bit.

Take a moment to go into any secluded piece of nature you can find. Sit there and just think; just be. Take notice of the sounds and noises around you, the ones that come from the natural orchestra of nature – far away from sounds of human creation. Leave when the time feels right and take care to leave the place as you found it. And if your journey leads you to an unexpected place, either internally or externally, trust that it is right and good.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

photoem: photographs + emotion

photographs + emotion

the truth with a twist

serving satire since socrates

synkroniciti

where generous artists collaborate and create

365 Questions

"Find out who you are and do it on purpose..."

Means To Travel

A focus on meaningful travel - and the means to get there.

erin in wanderlust

(ˈwɒndəˌlʌst) n. A very strong or irresistible impulse to travel.

while the walls of my hermitage speak

the universe is an ever changing feeling

