On Poetry and Passion

Losing inspiration is a heady thing, especially when the act of being inspired is one of the things that gets you through hard times. Without even realizing it, an apathy can invade your mind and body and make creation and artistry so hard to begin and continue. I consider myself a reasonably creative person that relishes deep thought. However, in the past six months, I have been distinctly apathetic in my day to day as well as in my creative projects. Apart from the sparsely occasional bout of inspiration in the dead of night, I go about my time as someone just getting by and not really looking to enjoy what every day has to offer. This most likely has everything to do with the post-graduate haze I have been sulking in while living in my hometown.

I would like to share a piece of writing that came from this post-graduate haze, and honestly came as a surprise. I don’t know where it came from but I am certainly glad that it happened. I was babysitting a month or so ago and the family’s fridge had magnet words. After I put the kids to bed, I spent the remainder of the time (about 2 hours) putting together this poem. It was an exhilarating challenge: trying to find the words for what I wanted to say, utilizing only what was right in front of me. The emotions came to me, sneakily interrupting the comfortable numbness that is my life at the moment. I haven’t written poetry in a while, and it gave me hope that inspiration can still invade my complacency from time to time:

photo

Here is the poem written out:

To her

passion was art

life an empty canvas

a glorious mess

of joy, pain, and electric aesthetic

but she is young

and to have and give freely is hard

they throw black smoke

angry screams create no music

though after the dust

soft grace or fiery will can always form

so live wild and dazzle

as if there were no waste here

feel deeply

let us see bold color

and shimmer like only you can

I don’t often share my poetry, and so posting it onto this blog is a very vulnerable step for me. I greatly welcome any critique and commentary.

One comment

  1. This poem is beautiful and so inspiring. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

photoem: photographs + emotion

photographs + emotion

the truth with a twist

serving satire since socrates

synkroniciti

where generous artists collaborate and create

365 Questions

"Find out who you are and do it on purpose..."

Means To Travel

A focus on meaningful travel - and the means to get there.

erin in wanderlust

(ˈwɒndəˌlʌst) n. A very strong or irresistible impulse to travel.

while the walls of my hermitage speak

the universe is an ever changing feeling

