On Living With Intent in 2015

Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself. – George Bernard Shaw

There is a large part of me that really dislikes the notion of resolutions at the beginning of a new year. There are many goals people make for themselves that are sometimes so daunting they become impossible to fulfill. I know that for the many years I made resolutions, I would then proceed to slip up and give up altogether by February. My best friend was speaking about how this year instead of resolutions she had a list of manifestations that she would like to see happen in the new year. That idea of manifestations is a really appealing concept, especially in a time of pause, reflection, and the mundane day to day that I have been living in since graduating.

So, instead of a list of resolutions, I am making one small change that will hopefully cause a ripple effect in other aspects of my life. The change I would like to make is simple: live with intent. In the hopelessness that I have found comes along with trying to figure out what I want to do with my life and where I want to be in terms of personal wellness, I have become so incredibly lazy. Comfortable is not the same as happy. I go to work, come home, eat, sometimes work out, and then settle into watching television until going to bed too late. The cycle repeats.

This is not how I want to live.

I want to live in a way where my day to day, though mundane, is full of purpose. I want every moment to ultimately contribute to either who I want to be as a person or what I want to do as a profession, or even just something I am interested in. It is a huge wake up call to look back on times of my life that I can’t honestly remember because they were not full of anything remotely fulfilling. I want this next year to be one that I look back on later and say I grew. I don’t necessarily want to create an entirely new person in myself, just improve the existing one.

The idea of finding oneself is one that appeals to me greatly, especially since I consider my soul a wandering one and my yearn for adventure only furthers that love of getting “lost”. However, I only recently realized that I am never going to be able to begin those adventures until I live with that intent. Until I create the life I want.

Leave a Reply

photoem: photographs + emotion

photographs + emotion

the truth with a twist

serving satire since socrates

synkroniciti

where generous artists collaborate and create

365 Questions

"Find out who you are and do it on purpose..."

Means To Travel

A focus on meaningful travel - and the means to get there.

erin in wanderlust

(ˈwɒndəˌlʌst) n. A very strong or irresistible impulse to travel.

while the walls of my hermitage speak

the universe is an ever changing feeling

