On Burning the Midnight Oil

2 AM’s were made for poets. Lovers/writers. Visionaries. Photographers. Painters. Over-thinkers. Silent seekers. These are my favorite hours.

I recently read this quote and identified so well with it because this is the time of day when I have always felt my most creative, inspired, and excited about new projects. It is that in-between time, a liminal state between the calm reflection of evening and the hustle and bustle of each days’ events. It is a time when I am no longer worried about yesterday, and have yet to worry about tomorrow. My brain is free to think and create and reflect and yearn for something deeper than the limited conversation of a bleak work week. I live for my 2 AM’s, sometimes consciously avoiding the clock so I don’t have to make myself go to sleep. I am writing this very post at 12:56 AM. It seems that almost every piece of writing I have completed has seen one of my 2 AM’s. I don’t always remember my days, but I always remember the nights where inspiration struck suddenly and I could not settle my soul until I got what I needed onto paper or the computer.

This post doesn’t have much point except to remind myself to fully grasp those moments of inspiration and see what comes of them. Ideas and deep thoughts may come at inconvenient times, but if we don’t process them, then we are not exploring the full potential of our mind and subconscious. For me, the writing that comes from burning the midnight oil is the truest and most authentic representation of myself, and I would love the opportunity to get to know others on that personal of a level as well. Don’t be afraid of these moments, of thinking and feeling too much, but embrace them.

Leave a Reply

photoem: photographs + emotion

photographs + emotion

the truth with a twist

serving satire since socrates

synkroniciti

where generous artists collaborate and create

365 Questions

"Find out who you are and do it on purpose..."

Means To Travel

A focus on meaningful travel - and the means to get there.

erin in wanderlust

(ˈwɒndəˌlʌst) n. A very strong or irresistible impulse to travel.

while the walls of my hermitage speak

the universe is an ever changing feeling

